The Japan News by The Yomiuri Shimbun

Home > Campus Now > NEWS REPORT : New Year Issue (Jan.)

Campus Now

New Year Issue (Jan.)


Awarding journalists who produced outstanding works

Awards ceremony for the 12th "Waseda Journalism Award in Memory of Ishibashi Tanzan"

Award-winning works were determined for the 12th "Waseda Journalism Award in Memory of Ishibashi Tanzan" and an awards ceremony was held on November 7th. President Kamata gave a speech and then presented each award-winner with a certificate, commemorative medal and prize money while commending their accomplishments.

"The number of outstanding works increases every year," said Satoshi Kamata, a member of the selection committee. "Our committee debated passionately in order to select this year's award-winners. Instead of broad and forceful reporting from a mass media perspective, the selected works convey the sincerity of journalists and individuals, causing readers and viewers to contemplate a variety of concepts such as the relation between human life and nature, and the shift in values following the Great East Japan Earthquake." Award-winners also expressed their passion towards journalistic works and their profession. The awards ceremony was attended by approximately 100 people including award-winners, members of news crews that worked intently to provide reporting and coverage, mass media officials and students who seek to become journalists.

Moreover, the booklet "Questioning Today's Journalism" (Waseda University Press) was published in conjunction with the awards ceremony. The booklet mainly summarizes contents of the panel discussion held in May 2012 for this award.

12th (2012 academic year) Grand Prize Section
Section Winning Work / Winner
Public Service Section Series: "Prometheus's Trap" (Asahi Shimbun Newspaper)
Representative of the news team for "Prometheus's Trap"
Tomoki Miyazaki, Assistant Manager
Special Reporting Department, Reporting Office, Asahi Shimbun Newspaper Tokyo Headquarters
Grassroots Democracy Section "From an Unstaffed Station in the North" (Hokkaido Shimbun Press)
Kazufumi Watanabe
Cultural Contribution Section E-TV Feature: "Honoring Flowers--The World of Michiko Ishimure" (NHK E-TV)
Ken Yoshizaki, Executive Director
Production Department, NHK PlanNet, Inc.
12th (2012 academic year) Incentive Award
Section Winning Work / Winner
Grassroots Democracy Section Feature Series: "My March 11th" (Ishimaki Kahoku)
Naoyuki Katsura, Representative
Ishimaki Kahoku Editorial Office, Sanriku Kahoku Inc.
Cultural Contribution Section Feature Series: "The Grasslands in Danger" and Campaign to Revitalize the Aso Grassland (Kumamoto Nichinichi Shimbun)
Tsuyoshi Hanatate
Representative of the "Aso Grassland Revitalization" News Team
Assistant Manager of Regional Department, Editing Office, Kumamoto Nichinichi Shimbun